Your question: What is the largest component of the executive branch?

The largest organizational units within the executive branch are the 15 executive departments: Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, Homeland Security, HOUSING AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT, Interior, Justice, Labor, State, Transportation, the Treasury, and Veterans Affairs.

What is most of the executive branch made up of?

The executive branch is composed of the president, vice president, and Cabinet members.

Which department is the largest in the executive branch?

The largest department in the executive branch is the Department of Defense, which incorporates the U.S. military and intelligence.

Why is the executive branch the largest?

The legislative and the judicial branches employ about 30,000 people each. By contrast, the executive branch is huge. The executive branch is in charge of carrying out all the laws. That means that every employee of the IRS is part of the executive branch.

See also  Quick Answer: What Country In Africa Has The Largest Population?

What is the most important part of the executive branch?

The Cabinet is an important and powerful part of the Executive Branch. It is made up of the heads of 15 different departments. They all must be approved by the Senate. To learn more about the Cabinet and it’s various departments.

What can the executive branch not do?


  • make laws.
  • declare war.
  • decide how federal money will be spent.
  • interpret laws.
  • choose Cabinet members or Supreme Court Justices without Senate approval.

What are the three parts of executive branch?

What are the three parts of the executive branch? The three parts of the executive branch: The Executive Office of the President, the executive departments, and the independent agencies.

What are the 15 departments in the executive branch?

The Cabinet includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments — the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, as well as the …

How many employees does the executive branch have?

Including members of the armed forces, the Executive Branch employs more than 4 million Americans.

How many executive branch agencies are there?

There are currently 15 executive departments.

What is the most powerful branch and why?

In conclusion, The Legislative Branch is the most powerful branch of the United States government not only because of the powers given to them by the Constitution, but also the implied powers that Congress has. There is also Congress’s ability to triumph over the Checks and balances that limits their power.

See also  Quick Answer: What is the oldest Catholic church in the US?

What stops the executive branch from becoming too powerful?

Separation of Powers in the United States is associated with the Checks and Balances system. The Checks and Balances system provides each branch of government with individual powers to check the other branches and prevent any one branch from becoming too powerful.

What laws does the executive branch enforce?

Executive Enforces the laws Executive Branch The executive branch enforces laws passed by the legislature. The governor is elected to be the head of the executive branch in the state. The governor has power to sign or veto laws passed by the legislature.

What are 5 responsibilities of the executive branch?

The executive branch is headed by the president, whose constitutional responsibilities include serving as commander in chief of the armed forces; negotiating treaties; appointing federal judges (including the members of the Supreme Court), ambassadors, and cabinet officials; and acting as head of state.

What is the role of the executive?

The executive is the branch of government exercising authority in and holding responsibility for the governance of a state. The executive executes and enforces law. … In such a system, the executive does not pass laws (the role of the legislature) or interpret them (the role of the judiciary).

Which branch of gov can declare war?

The Constitution grants Congress the sole power to declare war. Congress has declared war on 11 occasions, including its first declaration of war with Great Britain in 1812.

Like this post? Please share to your friends: