Which of the following is the smallest continent Africa Asia Australia Antarctica?

Complete Step by Step answer: The seven continents of the world when arranged from the largest to smallest are Asia, Africa, North america, South America, Antarctica, Europe and Australia. Hence Australia is the smallest continent in the world with an area of 8,600,000 square kilometres.

Which of the following continents is the smallest?

The criterion “large” leads to arbitrary classification: Greenland, with a surface area of 2,166,086 square kilometres (836,330 sq mi) is considered the world’s largest island, while Australia, at 7,617,930 square kilometres (2,941,300 sq mi) is deemed the smallest continent.

Is Antarctica smaller than Australia?

Antarctica covers the South Pole and is roughly twice the size of Australia. … Antarctica is bigger than Europe and almost double the size of Australia. Most of Antarctica is covered in ice over 1.6 kilometres thick (1 mile). Because it experiences such little rain, Antarctica is considered a desert.

See also  Quick Answer: Which is the oldest sea port?

Which is the smallest continent answer?

Australia is the smallest continent in the world.

Which is the largest continent Africa Asia or Australia?

There are seven continents: Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe, and Australia (listed from largest to smallest in size).

Which is the smallest continent by what other name do we often call it?

In terms of land area, the continent of Australia is the world’s smallest continent. In total, it includes 2,967,909 square miles (7,686,884 square kilometers), which is slightly smaller than the country of Brazil as well as the contiguous United States.

Which of the following is the smallest continent 1 point?

  • Australia is the smallest continent. The total land mass contribution of Australia to the world is 5.9%.
  • It is the oldest continent. Human inhabitation begun between 42,000 and 48,000 years ago.
  • It is a country as well as a continent. …
  • It is an island surrounded by Indian and Pacific oceans.

What are the 14 countries in Antarctica?

Today, seven countries have territories on Antarctica:

  • France (Adélie Land)
  • United Kingdom (British Antarctic Territory)
  • New Zealand (Ross Dependency)
  • Norway (Peter I Island and Queen Maud Land)
  • Australia (Australian Antarctic Territory)
  • Chile (Chilean Antarctic Territory)
  • Argentina (Argentine Antarctica)

Was Antarctica called Australia?

Instead of inventing a new name to replace it, they took the name Australia from the south polar continent, leaving it nameless for some eighty years. During that period, geographers had to make do with clumsy phrases such as “the Antarctic Continent”.

Why does Antarctica look smaller on a globe?

In 1569 he designed a map that could be accurately used for navigation purposes, but the downside was that his system distorted the size of objects depending on their position relative to the equator. Because of this, landmasses like Antarctica and Greenland appeared much larger than they actually are.

See also  Which state is the richest state in Germany?

Which continent is bigger Australia or Europe?

Australia’s land mass is: almost as great as that of the United States of America. about 50 per cent greater than Europe, and. 32 times greater than the United Kingdom.

Which continent has the world’s smallest country?

Smallest Countries in the World By Area

Rank Country Continent
1 Vatican City Europe
2 Monaco Europe
3 Nauru Australia and Oceania
4 Tuvalu Australia and Oceania

Which state is the smallest of the seven continents?

  • Australia: The Smallest Continent.
  • Official Listing of Countries by World Region.
  • Blank US Maps.
  • Population Density Information and Statistics.
  • What Is Eurasia?
  • Commonly Asked Questions About Continents.
  • Ranking Europe Countries by Area.
  • Countries Bordering the Mediterranean Sea.

11 апр. 2020 г.

Is Australia bigger than Africa?

Africa is 3.93 times as big as Australia

At about 30.3 million km2 (11.7 million square miles) including adjacent islands, it covers 6% of Earth’s total surface area and 20% of its land area.

Are there 6 or 7 continents?

These six continents are Africa, America, Antarctica, Asia, Australia/Oceania, and Europe. By most standards, there is a maximum of seven continents – Africa, Antarctica, Asia, Australia/Oceania, Europe, North America, and South America.

How many countries does Africa have?

How many countries are there in Africa? 48 countries share the area of mainland Africa, plus six island nations are considered to be part of the continent. All in all, there are 54 sovereign African countries and two disputed areas, namely Somaliland and Western Sahara (see the list of African countries below).

Like this post? Please share to your friends: